Daily Archives: May 6, 2014

Dec0ding: TaeTiSeo (Girls’ Generation) – Twinkle

Ow

The twinkle, twinkle
The twinkle, twinkle
Ohh 

CHORUS:

숨겨도(even if hidden) twinkle 어쩌나(casually)

*Even if I hide I still twinkle

눈에(eyes)(surely) 띄잖아(caught)

*I can immediately catch your attention

베일에(in a veil) 싸여 있어도(Even if wrapped)

*Even if I’m wrapped in a veil

나는(I) twinkle 티가 나(obvious)

*I obviously twinkle

(another) 사람들도(people also)(all) 빛나는(shining) 나를(I) 좋아해(like)

*All the other people like me, the one shining

끝까지(until the end) 경계해야 해(you must be wary)

*You must be cautious until the end

보석(jewelry)을 훔친(stolen) 너잖아(that’s you)

*You’re the who stole the jewelry, right?

(always) 나의(my) 곁(beside)을 지켜줘(protect)(my) 주위만(only the surroundings) 맴돌아(hovering)

*Be always by my side protecting me, just be around me

눈을(eyes) 떼지 말아줘(please don’t take off/keep)

*Don’t take your eyes off me

(my) 매력에(in the charms) 빠져(fall)

*Fall into my charms

REPEAT CHORUS

(I) 미지의(unknown) 세계(world) 시간(time)을 잊어버릴걸(forget)

*Ill forget about time in the unknown world

아침에(in the morning) 눈을 떠봐도(even wake up)

*Even when I wake up in the morning

꿈은(dream) 계속될 거야(will continue)

*I will still continue dreaming

(I) 너를(you) 위해(reason) 꾸미고(dress up and)

*I’ll dress up for you and

(more) 예쁘게(beautifully)(I) 반짝일래(will shine)

*I will shine more beautifully

(why) 너만(only you) 혼자(alone) 몰라(I don’t know) 나의(my) 진가(true value)

*Why are you the only one who doesn’t know my true worth?

REPEAT CHORUS

너무(too) 태연해(casual) 너무(too) 뻔뻔해(shameless)

*You’re too and shameless

 밖에(outside)는 (I) 소원하는(wishful) 줄이(line) 끝이(end)(can’t) 보여(see)

*The endless queue of people longing for me

말도 안되게(ridiculously)(your) 너무(too) 담담해(unconcerned)

*You’re ridiculously too unconcerned

(I) 하늘(sky) 아래(down) 떨어진(falling)(star)

*I’m a fallen star from the sky

REPEAT CHORUS

REPEAT CHORUS

REPEAT CHORUS

T-Twinkle 알잖아 (know)

*You know that I twinkle, right?

Don’t do it / -지 마세요

Level 2 | Lesson 30

말다 [mal-da] = to quit doing, to not do, to stop doing

When you use the -(으)세요 ending for this word, it becomes 마세요 [ma-se-yo] but, when you want to combine 마세요 with other verbs and say “don’t do” something, you need to add the suffix -지 [-ji] after the verb stem.

Verb stem + -지 마세요 [-ji ma-se-yo]

Examples:
가지 마세요. [ga-ji ma-se-yo.]
= Don’t go.
하지 마세요. [ha-ji ma-se-yo.]
= Don’t do it.
사 지 마세요. [sa-ji ma-se-yo.]
= Don’t buy it.

Do it for me / -아/어/여 주세요

Level 2 | Lesson 27

Often times, when you want to ask for help, it is more natural to add -아/어/여 주세요 at the end. For example, it’s not very natural to say “저를 도우세요!” (from the irregular verb, 돕다, to help) when you mean “Help me!”. You need to say “저를 도와 주세요” or just “도와 주세요” to sound more natural.

주세요 comes from 주다 [ju-da], which means “to give”, so by adding 주세요 after a verb, you add the meaning of “give me the act of” doing something, so it means “do it for me.” And -아/어/여 is just a connecting part for make the pronunciation a little softer.

Example

가르치다 [ga-reu-chi-da] = to teach
가르치세요 [ga-reu-chi-se-yo] = Teach. / Please teach. (to whom is unknown)
가르쳐 주세요 [ga-reu-chyeo ju-se-yo] = Please teach me.
경은 씨한테 가르쳐 주세요 [gyeong-eun ssi-han-te ga-reu-chyeo ju-se-yo] = Please teach 경은 (how to do that).

imperative / -(으)세요

In order to tell someone to do something, you basically add -(으)세요 [-(eu)se-yo] at the end of the verb stem. Verb stems ending with a consonant are followed by -으세요 and verb stems ending with a vowel or with the consonant “ㄹ” are followed by -세요.

Examples:
오다 [o-da] = to come
오 + -세요 = 오세요 [o-se-yo] = Please come.

Exception:
When a verb stem ends with the last consonant ㄹ, you drop the ㄹ and add -세요.
팔다 [pal-da] = to sell
팔 –> 파 + 세요 = 파세요 [pa-se-yo] = Please sell it.

have to, should, must / -아/어/여야 되다/하다

Level 2 | Lesson 20

to have to, should, must
= verb stem + -아/어/여 + -야 되다/하다

Examples:
자다 [ja-da] = to sleep
자 + -아/어/여 + -야 되다/하다
–> 자 + “-아” + -야 되다/하다 (You choose “-아” because 자 ends with the vowel “ㅏ”)
–> 자야 되다/하다 (You then drop the -아 because it’s the same same as “ㅏ”)
–> 자야 되다 and 자야 하다 are the same thing.

So the construction is basically:
1. verb stems ending in vowels ‘ㅏ’ or ‘ ㅗ’ + -아야 되다/하다
2. verb stems ending in other vowels + -어야 되다/하다
3. 하 + -여야 되다/하다 one of the three above.

  1. -아/어/여 + -야 – This part means “only when _____ is done” or “only when you do _____”
  2. 되다 or 하다– 되다 means “to be done” or “to be possible” and 하다 means “to do” something.

What is the difference between 하다 and 되다 here?
– The only difference is that using 되다 is more common in colloquial situations.

Dec0ding: Ailee(에일리) _ Heaven

(your) 있는 곳(to be at)에 나(me)(also) 함께(together) 할게(let’s do it)

*Wherever you’re at I’ll be with you

(your)가 가는 곳(to go)에 나(me)(also) 함께(together) 갈게(let’s go)

*Wherever you go, I’ll also go with you

(you) 위해서(for/because) 매일(everyday)(smile)고 널(you) 위해서(for/because) 기도하(pray)

*Because of you I smile everyday, because of you I pray

(your) 생각(thoughts)에 잠들(fall asleep)고 널(you) 부르(calling)며 눈을 떠(waking up)

*With thoughts of you I fall asleep, when I wake up I call for you

(my) 옆에서(to be beside) 지켜주(please protect me)고 내(my) 옆에서(to be beside) 감싸주(please embrace me)

*Protect me by my side and embrace me

(you) 나의(my) 천국인걸(to be heaven)

*You are my heaven

CHORUS

You’re my only one way

오직(only/solely)(you)를 원해(want)(my)가 니(your) 곁에(beside) 있음(to be)에 감사해(grateful/thank )

*Your the only one that I want, I’m grateful that your beside me

You’re the only one babe

힘든(difficult) 세상(world) 속에(in/within) 사랑(love)을 알게(know/learn) 해준(gave)(you) 하나(one way)로 나(I)는 행복해(happy)

*In this difficult world, the love that I knew you gave me is the only way to happiness

CHORUS II

Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven

Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven

우리(we/us) 함께라면(If together) we will never cry never never cry

*If we are together we will never cry never never cry

Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven

Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven Heaven

영원히(forever) 둘이서(the two) never gonna be alone

*The two of us forever never gonna be alone

(your) 품에서(in the arms) 숨을 쉬(breathing)고 니(your) 품에서(in the arms) 입 맞추(kissing)

*I breath in your arms, I kiss in your arms

(your) 목소릴(voice) 들으면(If heard) 꿈 꾸는 것(dreaming)(only) 같아(like)

*When I hear your voice, it seems like I’m dreaming

(your) 눈에서(in the eyes) 알 수 있어(I can know/tell)(your) 사랑을(love) 알 수 있어(I can know/tell)

*I can tell from your eyes, I can tell from your love

(you) 나의(my) 천국(heaven)인걸(to be)

*You are my heaven

REPEAT CHORUS

Heaven 나만의(personalized/own) 사람(person) 그래(yes/so)(I)를 지켜줄(will give protection) 사람(person)

*Heaven your my own, so you are a person that I will protect

어떤(How) 슬픔도(even sad) 어떤(how) 아픔도(even painful) 너와(with you) 함께(together) 한다면(can do it if)

*No matter how sad, no matter how painful, if it’s with you I can do it

어느(any) 누구도(anybody)(I) 부럽지 않아(do not envy) 떨리는(trembling)(two) 손을(hands) 잡아줘(hold)

*I do not envy anyone,please just hold my hands

(my)가 사는(living) 이유(reason)(you)니까(that’s why)

*Your the reason why I’m living

REPEAT CHORUS

REPEAT CHORUS II

to be good/poor at ~ / 잘 하다/못 하다

Level 2 | Lesson 18

The basic construction for saying “to do something” is [object] + -을/를 (= object marker) +
하다 (= to do), and to this, you add 잘 [jal] or 못 [mot].
~을/를 잘 하다 = to be good at ~ (lit. to do ~ well)
~을/를 못 하다 = to be poor at ~ (lit. to do ~ poorly)

Example
노래 [no-rae] = singing, song
노래를 잘 하다 [no-rae-reul jal ha-da] = to be good at singing, to sing well

But since 못 하다 can also mean “to be unable to do” something or “can not do” something, 잘 [jal] is often added in front of this and makes it 잘 못 하다, to make the meaning clear. By saying 잘 못 하다, you literally say that you “can not do something well” or “are unable to do something well”, which is similar to being poor at it.

Are 잘 and 못 (or 잘 못) only used with -하다 verbs?

No.

can, cannot / -ㄹ 수 있다/없다

Level 2 | Lesson 17

The sentence structure you can use to say that you “can” do something is:
-(으)ㄹ 수 있다 [-(eu)l su it-da]

Example:

보다 = to see
–> 보 + -ㄹ 수 있다 = 볼 수 있다 [bol su it-da] = can see

When saying you can’t do something it becomes -(으)ㄹ 수 없다, using 없다, the opposite word of 있다

Example:

잡다 = to catch
–> 잡 + -을 수 없다 = 잡을 수 없다 [ja-beul su eop-da] = can not cath
<–> 잡을 수 있다 [ja-beul su it-da] = can catch

Another way to say -(으)ㄹ 수 없다 is using the word 못 before a verb.

Examples:

갈 수 없다 = 못 가다 [verb: 가다] = can not go
볼 수 없다 = 못 보다 [verb: 보다] = can not see
먹을 수 없다 = 못 먹다 [verb: 먹다] = can not eat
할 수 없다 = 못 하다 [verb: 하다] = can not do

Future Tense / -ㄹ/을 거예요, 할 거예요

Level 2 | Lesson 1

The most common way of making future tense sentences in Korean is adding ㄹ/을 거예요 [l/eul geo-ye-yo].

Verb + ㄹ/을 거예요 = future tense!

How to determine whether to use ㄹ 거예요 or 을 거예요:

  1. 1. Verb stems ending with a vowel (보다, 가다, 자다) are followed by ㄹ 거예요.
  2. 2. Verb stems ending with a consonant (먹다, 찾다, 붙다) are followed by 을 거예요.(**There is no complex reason for this. It’s just for the ease of pronunciation.)
  3. 3. Exception: Verb stems already ending with ㄹ at the end (놀다, 멀다, 살다) are followed just by 거예요.

When a verb is changed into this form, it takes the meaning of “to be going to” do something or “will” do something. But as you will find out when you hear more Korean spoken between native speakers, the present tense can also serve to express the future, when the context is very clear.

Examples:
가다 [ga-da] = to go
가 + ㄹ 거예요. [ga + l geo-ye-yo]
–> 갈 거예요. [gal geo-ye-yo] = I’m going to go. I will go.
지금 갈 거예요. = I’m going to go (there) now.
혼자 갈 거예요. = I’m going to go alone.
내일 갈 거예요. = I’m going to go tomorrow